december 09
new york
martin roth (link)
eco (link)
ryan tyas
chris luzz
timmy regisford

shelter (link)
150 varick st (directions)

ages: 18+
add event (vcal) (gcal)
sound: electro, techno, trance+
jump to: review gallery audio video
Sign up for event updates.
name email
night reveler StrobeLife Massive NYC

Thanks to the guys and girls who make up StrobeLife, Massive NYC, and People NYC, Shelter was the place to be this past Saturday. The show was headlined by Martin Roth and backed by DJ Eco, with Chris Luzz, Deepspell, and Ryan Tyas in the basement. Everything you could hope to see in a club: great sound, lighting, and an amazing space came together to create the perfect atmosphere for the scheduled talent.

The night kicked off around 10 when Eco took the helm on the main floor, putting together a well-crafted set, which spanned progressive, trance, and electro. Revelers looking for a more mellow sound found just that in the basement, where Chris Luzz opened with a great blend of deep house and tech. The night progressed with Al from Deepspell and Ryan Tyas joining Chris in taking turns moving the crowd. Anyone not in the audience missed out on a fun set which featured a mind-blowing number of exclusives. Seeing three guys with different tastes in music putting together such a cohesive mix was as much a rarity as it was a pleasure to hear.

The crowd was great on both floors and the space filled up quickly. By the time 1AM rolled around, Shelter was full of grinning faces that were ready for Martin Roth to take over the decks. The reaction he solicited from the audience was immediate and intense. Everyone was anxious to hear what he brought to New York for his first visit and responded with a warm welcome. Any worries melted away as Roth went to work giving the crowd exactly what they came for. Music flowed and hit hard as he dropped track after track covering all the right bases: from house and trance, to electro and beyond. Martin let on from the start just how ecstatic he was to share his sound with us. He clearly enjoyed the music as much as everyone else in the room. As expected, the sound system was prepared to put out every shimmering high and chest cavity rattling low he served up. It was also refreshing to see one of the best lighting setups of any club in the city following each beat and showing colorful highlights from all the dancing people who picked to spend their night on Varick street.

There's no doubt in my mind that everyone who came out had a great time. It's worth mentioning that this was the first event put together by the StrobeLife crew, who did everything possible to ensure that the night went well. Faces filled with smiles told us what we had hoped for was accomplished: the party was a success. We happen to agree, it was a blast! There might have been a handful of annoyances over the course of the night, but everyone involved did their best to make sure that nothing came close to affecting the vibe. Lessons were learned and next event will surely be even better.

For our part, we wanted to capture as much of the energy from everyone who was there to relive some part of the night in the future and to allow those who couldn't make it to experience a small glimpse of what it was actually like to be there. There's no better way to tell that story than by sharing with you our photos, pieces of Roth and Eco's sets, and finally video rounding out our coverage. It should give you an idea of where we're headed with NR. We hope you enjoy everything we worked so hard to bring to you. We would also like to encourage everyone who was there to tell us what they thought of the night and our post-show coverage. Highlights from your emails, phone calls, and AIM conversations will make it to this page for others to enjoy.

DJ Eco (download mp3) right-click the link to save the file
Track list
01 - Faithless - Bombs (Benny Benassi remix)
02 - Deetron - The Afterlife
03 - Unkle feat. Ian Astbury - Burn my Shadow (Junkie XL remix)
04 - Eric Prydz vs. Pink Floyd - Proper Education (Daft mix)
05 - Smith & Selway - Work it (Deetron remix)
06 - Imogen Heap - The Moment I Said it (Airbase vocal mix)
07 - Leon Bolier pres. Supresa - Poseidon
08 - Sarah McLachlan - First Noel (DJ Shah remix)
09 - B.I.G. - A Promise (Matthew Dekay remix)
Martin Roth (download mp3) right-click the link to save the file
Track list
01 - Liquid Soul - Crazy People
02 - Santiago Nino - Believe (Max Graham Sidechained remix)
03 - Simon & Shaker - Zero
04 - Karen Overton - Your Loving Arms (Markus Schulz remix)
05 - Lange - Another You, Another Me
06 - Mac & Mac - Listen (Dub mix)
07 - TDR - Squelch (SVD remix)
08 - Hammer & Bennet - Language (Santiago Nino Dub Tech remix)
09 - Emjay - Real High (AK47 remix)
10 - Martin Roth - Shockwaves (Technopunk remix)
11 - ID
12 - Technopunk - Energize
13 - Sean Tyas - Lift (Re-work)
Martin Roth with DJ Eco download mov: (small) (large) right-click the link to save the file

Get the Flash Player to see this player.


None of this would have been possible without the cooperation, dedication, and hard work put in by everyone involved with the show. In no special order, our thanks go out to: